BSP Grants Regulatory Relief to Banks Affected by Typhoon “Labuyo” and by Southwest Monsoon (Habagat) Enhanced by Tropical Storm “Maring”

The Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas is granting regulatory relief measures to banks to enable them to similarly assist and ease the financial burden of bank customers adversely affected by Typhoon “Labuyo” and by Southwest Monsoon (Habagat) enhanced by Tropical Storm “Maring” which devastated several parts of the country from 12 to 21 August 2013.  Eligible for the relief measures are those in the following areas identified by the National Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council on 18 and 22 August 2013:

Typhoon “Labuyo”

  • Region I :  La Union and Pangasinan
  • Region II :  Isabela, Nueva Vizcaya and Quirino
  • Region III :  Aurora, Bulacan, Nueva Ecija, Pampanga and Zambales
  • Region V :  Albay and Sorsogon
  • CAR :  Benguet, Ifugao, Kalinga and Mountain Province


  • Region I :  Ilocos Sur, La Union and Pangasinan
  • Region III :  Bataan, Zambales, Bulacan, Pampanga and Tarlac
  • Region IV–A :  Batangas, Cavite, Laguna and Rizal
  • Region IV–B :  Occidental Mindoro
  • NCR : Mandaluyong City, Marikina City, Manila City, San Juan City, Makati City, Quezon City, Pasay City, Pasig City, Caloocan City, Valenzuela City, Parañaque City, Taguig City, Las Piñas City, Muntinlupa City, Navotas City, Malabon City and Pateros
  • CAR :  Abra, Benguet and Mountain Province

Similar relief measures were extended by the BSP to thrift and rural/cooperative banks in cities/provinces that were affected by previous typhoons such as Sendong, Pedring, Mina and Juaning in 2011, and Southwest Monsoon (Habagat), and typhoons Helen, Gener, Pablo, and tropical depression “Quinta” in 2012.

As approved on 29 August 2013 by the Monetary Board, the BSP’s policy-making body, the temporary relief measures include:

For Thrift Banks/Rural Banks/Cooperative Banks

a) Excluding existing loans of borrowers in affected areas from the computation of past due ratios provided these are restructured or given relief;

b) Reducing the 5 percent general loan loss provision to 1 percent for restructured loans of borrowers in the affected areas;

c) Non-imposition of penalties on legal reserves deficiencies with head office and/or branches  in the affected areas;

d) Moratorium on monthly payments due to BSP for banks with ongoing rehabilitation programs;

e) Subject to BSP approval, booking of allowance for probable losses on a staggered basis over maximum of five (5) years for all types of credit extended to individual and businesses directly affected by the calamity;

f) Non-imposition of monetary penalties for delays in the submission of supervisory reports;

For All Banks

a) Allowing banks to provide financial assistance to their officers and employees who were affected by the calamity including those assistance that may not be within the scope of the existing BSP-approved Fringe Benefit Program;

For All Rediscounting Banks

a) Granting of a 60-day grace period to settle the outstanding rediscounting obligations as of 21 August 2013 with the BSP of all rediscounting banks in the affected areas; and

b) Allowing banks to restructure with the BSP, on a case-to-case basis, the outstanding rediscounted loans of borrowers affected by the calamity.

These measures will be in effect for a defined period and covered by additional specific and other prudential conditions.